Math 520 Section 2 Assignments

David Dumas / Spring 2008

Final exam review sessions (all sections welcome):
Review #1 (Liaw): Wednesday, May 7, 7pm, MacMillan 117
Review #2 (Xiao): Thursday, May 8, 7pm, Barus & Holley 165
Review #3 (Dumas): Monday, May 12, 7pm, MacMillan 115

Remaining office hours:

Monday, May 5, 2-3pm
Tuesday, May 6, 2-3pm
 * no office hours on Wed, May 7 *
Monday, May 12, 2-3pm

Homework Assignments

The list of homework problems is now complete. (Note: one problem was added on Friday, May 2.) The last homework is due on Monday, May 5.

Please do not wait until the last minute to study for the final exam.

Hwk # Due Problems
13 Mon, May 5 Note: Problem 6 in section 7.3 is very important. The "answer" is in the back of the book—go ahead and look—but you need to show that you understand what it means!
Section 7.1: 1, 3, 12, 13, 14
Section 7.2: 5, 6, 9, 10
Section 7.3: 6
12 Fri, Apr 25 Section 6.5: 3, 10, 20, 22
Section 6.6: 3, 5, 17, 18
Section 6.7: 1, 2, 3, 4
11 Fri, Apr 18 Note: You don't need to do problem 17 in section 6.3, even though problem 21 mentions it. But you will need to compute eB.
Section 6.3: 15, 19, 20, 21, 24
Section 6.4: 3, 4, 5, 11, 26
Section 6.5: 1, 2
10 Fri, Apr 11 Section 6.2: 1, 8, 10, 15, 16, 19, 20, 22
Section 6.3: 1, 4
9 Fri, Apr 4 Section 5.2: 15
Section 5.3: 1, 6, 17, 19
Section 6.1: 5, 6, 19, 28, 30
8 Fri, Mar 21 Section 4.4: 3, 20, 23, 34
Section 5.1: 1, 2, 13, 14, 15, 29
Section 5.2: 1, 5, 11, 12
7 Fri, Mar 14 Section 4.2: 11, 16, 19, 20, 26
Section 4.3: 5, 7, 9, 10
Section 4.4: 5, 8, 15
6 Fri, Mar 7 Section 1.2: 14
Section 3.5: 39
Section 3.6: 2, 6, 13, 14
Section 4.1: 14, 17, 22, 24, 25, 28
Section 4.2: 1, 5
5 Fri, Feb 29 Section 3.4: 4, 10, 19
Section 3.5: 1, 2, 5, 11, 14, 37
4 Fri, Feb 22 Section 3.2: 1, 2, 3, 9
Section 3.3: 2, 3, 6, 10
Section 3.4: 1, 2
3 Fri, Feb 15 Section 2.6: 9
Section 2.7: 4, 6, 7, 20, 22
Section 3.1: 2, 9, 10, 17, 27
Section 3.2: 26
2 Fri, Feb 8 Section 2.3: 27
Section 2.4: 14, 18, 21, 25
Section 2.5: 1, 7, 10, 11, 25, 35
Section 2.6: 5, 11, 12
1 Fri, Feb 1 Section 1.1: 26, 28
Section 2.1: 10, 27
Section 2.2: 11, 12, 13, 19
Section 2.3: 3, 14, 16, 25
Section 2.4: 1, 6

Reading Assignments

Date Reading
Apr 28 Sections 7.3-7.4
Apr 21 Sections 7.1-7.2
Apr 16 Sections 6.6-6.7
Apr 11 Sections 6.4-6.5
Apr 4 Section 6.3
Mar 21 Sections 6.1-6.2
Mar 17 Section 5.3
Mar 10 Sections 5.1-5.2
Mar 5 Sections 4.3-4.4
Feb 25 Sections 4.1-4.2
Feb 20 Section 3.6
Feb 13 Sections 3.4-3.5
Feb 8 Section 3.3
Feb 4 Sections 2.7 and 3.1-3.2
Jan 30 Sections 2.5-2.6
Jan 28 Section 2.4
Jan 23 Chapter 1 and Sections 2.1-2.3

Homework policies

Late homework will NOT be accepted. There are no exceptions to this policy.

When computing your homework grade at the end of the semester, your lowest score will be dropped.

You can discuss the course material and homework with other students, but when writing solutions that you will turn in for credit, you must work alone, and the work you turn in must represent your own understanding of the material.

Up: Math 520 home page