MCS 481: Computational Geometry

David Dumas

University of Illinois at Chicago
Spring 2012

MCS
The Voronoi diagram of a pseudorandom perturbation of the square lattice (selected cells shaded).

General information

Instructor David Dumas (ddumas@math.uic.edu)
Office hours Wed and Fri 11am-12pm in SEO 503
CRN 31103 (undergraduate), 31104 (graduate)
Lectures MWF 2:00 - 2:50pm in Taft Hall 219
Text de Berg, Cheong, van Kreveld, and Overmars.  Computational Geometry: Algorithms and Applications, 3ed. Springer-Verlag, 2008.
ISBN-13: 978-3540779735   (compare prices and availability at several booksellers)

Course Materials

Assignments

Unless otherwise noted, all reading assignments and homework problem numbers refer to the textbook, Computational Geometry: Algorithms and Applications, 3ed by de Berg, Cheong, van Kreveld, and Overmars.

Reading

Date Reading
Mon, Jan 9 Chapter 1
Wed, Jan 18 Chapter 2
Wed, Feb 1 Chapter 3
Wed, Feb 8 Chapter 5
Wed, Feb 15 Chapter 6
Wed, Feb 29 Chapter 7
Fri, Mar 9 Chapter 8
Wed, Mar 14 Chapter 9
Mon, Apr 9 Chapter 12
Mon, Apr 16 Chapter 10

Homework

Hwk # Due Problems
0 Fri, Jan 20 Install CGAL and confirm that it is working.
1 Mon, Jan 23 Lecture 2: 1.4, 1.6, 1.7
2 Mon, Feb 6 Lecture 7: 2.1, 2.2
Lecture 8: 2.5, 2.8, 2.14
3 Mon, Feb 20 Lecture 13: 3.3, 3.4, 3.8, 3.14
4 Mon, Mar 5 Lecture 18: 5.1, 5.4, 5.8
Lecture 19: 6.1, 6.2
5 Mon, Mar 26 Select a final project topic.
Lecture 25: 7.2, 7.5, 7.6
Lecture 26: 8.1, 8.11
6 Mon, April 9 Homework 6 (PDF)
7 Mon, April 23 Lecture 36: 12.3, 12.4, 12.5

Projects

Project # Due
1 Mon, Feb 6 Convex hull and line segment intersection
Project description: projdesc1.pdf
Source files: projdesc1-files-1.0.tar.gz
2 Fri, Mar 2 Polygons
Project description (without source listings): projdesc2-nocode.pdf
Source listings: projdesc2-listings.pdf
Source files: projdesc2-files-1.0.tar.gz
3 Fri, Mar 30 Voronoi diagrams
Project description (without source listings): projdesc3-nocode.pdf
Source listings: projdesc3-listings.pdf
Source files: projdesc3-files-1.0.tar.gz
Final Fri, Apr 27 (reports) Final project info

Software

CGAL and its dependencies are available as binary packages for some operating systems, including several versions of GNU/Linux, and this is often the easiest way to install these programs. For example, on recent versions of Debian GNU/Linux, all of the necessary packages can be installed with the command:
apt-get install g++ cmake libcgal-demo

Grading

Your course grade will be determined on the following basis:
Homework 30%
Projects 30%
Final project 40%

Resources

Up: Home page of David Dumas